Topping the lists for most shortlisted project and individual categories are PwC with twelve, Ernst & Young with seven, and Deloitte with seven.

MCA Awards 2013 - shortlist announced

Projects and consultants from 30 separate management consulting firms feature in the shortlist for this year’s MCA Awards. Topping the lists for most shortlisted project and individual categories are PwC with 12, Ernst & Young with seven, and Deloitte with seven. Competing against established global consultancies are many of the UK’s top specialist and smaller consultancies.

The shortlist includes some exciting new categories for both consulting projects and outstanding individual consultants. These include two new project categories for Commercial Excellence and Social and Environmental Value, and two individual awards for Young Consultant of the Year and Consultant of the Year. In addition, the MCA has this year created an award for the Best New Consultancy Firm.

Alan Leaman, CEO of the MCA, commented: “Following a record level of entries, this year’s MCA Awards shortlist illustrates the wide range of consultancy and individual expertise - whose quality of work has been recognised for delivering value to organisations on both a domestic and global scale. Our expert panel of judges will assess each entry shortly, and we looking forward to showcasing all of the projects at our awards dinners in April.”

The MCA Awards shortlist is as follows:

Best New Consultancy


Private Public


Change Management in the Private Sector

Boxwood with Tube Lines

Challenge Consulting with Hitachi Capital UK

LCP Consulting with Harrods UK

Moorhouse with British Airways

PwC with Adecco

Change Management in the Public Sector

Atos with Staffordshire CSU

Capita with Birmingham City Council

Ernst & Young with HM Treasury

Hay Group with Anglesey Council

Maxxim Consulting with University of Northampton

Commercial Excellence

Accenture with Microsoft

Efficio Consulting with Thames Water

KPMG with Jaguar Landrover

PwC with BBC

Customer Engagement

Deloitte with Canon Europe

iMPOWER with Buckinghamshire, Staffordshire and Hertfordshire
County Councils

KPMG with RBS/NatWest

NTT Data with Orange

Finance and Risk Management

Ernst & Young with Credit Suisse

Hudson & Yorke with Zurich Insurance Group


BearingPoint with UKHO

IBM with Essex County Council

Private Public with NESTA

Trinity Horne with Yorkshire Water


Arup with PRASA

Deloitte with HR Development Fund

Elix-IRR with Standard Bank

Mott MacDonald with Pop Up Foundation


Deloitte with BP

McKinney Rogers with Walmart Stores US

PwC with Direct Line Group

PwC with National Apprenticeship Service

Trinity Horne with Welsh Water

Performance Improvement in the Private Sector

CSC with Selex Galileo

Ernst & Young with Willis Group

Navigant with Nationwide

PwC with Bombardier Transportation UK

Qedis with Allen & Overy

Performance Improvement in the Public Sector

Accenture with HMRC

Capita with States of Guernsey

KPMG with West Midlands Police

Mott MacDonald with North Ayreshire County Council

Social and Environmental Value

Atos with Home Office (Hillsborough)

CSC with Future for Youth Foundation

PwC with Department for Education

PwC with Puma

Trinity Horne with Welsh Water


Deloitte with Facebook

Elix-IRR with Standard Bank

Kepner-Tregoe with DAL Group

PwC with Vodafone, Telefonica UK, Everything Everywhere


Arup with National Air Traffic Control

Atos with Olympics 2012

Ernst & Young with UK Border Agency

KPMG with Jaguar Landrover

Individual categories

Change Management Consultant of the Year

Edward Pinkard, Capita

Umang Patel, CSC

Sayeh Ghanbari, Ernst & Young

Ewan Cameron, Moorhouse

Tracey Gribben, PwC

HR Consultant of the Year

Mark Bowden, Deloitte

Rohan De Rozario, Ernst & Young

Paritosh Singh, IBM

Performance Improvement Consultant of the Year

Jonathan D’Souza, Accenture

Lasse Lund, Deloitte

James Bowman, PwC

Paul Deegan, PwC

Strategy Consultant of the Year

Fred Jones, Accenture

Ed Temple, Capita

Paul Le, CSC

Yunus Ozler, Ernst & Young

Technology Consultant of the Year

Stephen Cameron, BearingPoint

Guy Lucchi, CSC

Matt Phipps-Taylor, Deloitte

Young Consultant of the Year

Matt Peirce, BearingPoint

Aimi Hayman, Capita

Joanna Sarno-Hannock, Capita

Phil Humber, CSC

Alison Kay, Moorhouse
Rebecca Lloyd, PwC

Winners for each category will be announced at the Awards Dinner, held at the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane, London on 18 April 2013. All the awards are judged by an independent expert panel of judges with experience of working in the private and public sectors, universities, consultancy and journalism.

Full details on the MCA Awards 2013 are available via more